littleangels        English Nanny
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: If you like Tolkien

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,574
    Thanked: 311

    If you like Tolkien

    Should be listened with enough bass.


  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Suuryaa For This Useful Post:

    americaninmoscow (25-02-2021), rusmeister (26-02-2021), Uncle Wally (25-02-2021)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    moscow
    Posts
    1,643
    Thanked: 823
    I was just listening to a podcast about tolkien and his writings.

    According to the author, tolkien could read old languages and was one of the few that could translate some very old scandinavian scripts kept in the cambridge.or.oxford archives. The general idea was that tolkien didn't think-up his middle earth stories, they were legends and stories from the old scripts and were true.

    Apparently, there was back and forth on this between him and cs.lewis and lewis started to lean in this direction as.well.

    These .were. pre-adamic stories.

    You can read the author's explaination here.
    https://twitter.com/Robkearney1981/s...354681856?s=19

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,574
    Thanked: 311
    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    I was just listening to a podcast about tolkien and his writings.

    According to the author, tolkien could read old languages and was one of the few that could translate some very old scandinavian scripts kept in the cambridge.or.oxford archives. The general idea was that tolkien didn't think-up his middle earth stories, they were legends and stories from the old scripts and were true.

    Apparently, there was back and forth on this between him and cs.lewis and lewis started to lean in this direction as.well.

    These .were. pre-adamic stories.

    You can read the author's explaination here.
    https://twitter.com/Robkearney1981/s...354681856?s=19
    Thanks! I'll have a look.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    8,347
    Thanked: 1195
    Quote Originally Posted by Suuryaa View Post
    Should be listened with enough bass.

    Hi, Suuryaa!
    Long time, no see!
    Yes, that is a truly great channel amid all of the mediocre ones.
    You can’t go wrong with Tolkien. A very wise and deep man with a solid grasp of truth of the human condition. He makes one desire virtue without any preaching.
    His letter to his son on marriage is fantastic, his fictional writings aside.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to rusmeister For This Useful Post:

    Suuryaa (26-02-2021)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •