Brookes School        British Lyceum in Moscow
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Thread: OK, bought computer, now how to change language to English?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    11,593
    Thanked: 3187
    Quote Originally Posted by Benedikt View Post
    i wonder what you use the MAC for? or how you use it? fair enough I use mine -only- for personal things. no big graphics, no games, no fancy downloads. though for work i have some 10 000 technical cards, menus,food photoes and other work related things. never any problem.
    the only thing i do not have is an accumulator back up. i did not buy one when they were available at Media Markt because they were so expensive, that time. In our building there is lots of construction going on, does happen frequently power goes off for a minute or so. so i set the -save- not every 3 minutes. but every minute. when typing menus or the likes. and a crash, where everything just drops and goes black, never happened to me. maybe the older Mac's,mine is a mid 2007 already, were constructed sturdier than the new ones?


    If you can change your battery you have a very old Mac. Like back when they were good.
    If you trust the government you obviously failed history class. " George Carlin"

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    11,593
    Thanked: 3187
    I don't know but I had no problem resetting my wife very old HP she bought in Russia and setting English as the language. It's running Windows 10 now.
    If you trust the government you obviously failed history class. " George Carlin"

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanked: 572
    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    I also thought this, but a few months ago a project came up and I spent a lot of time on Macs. I was blown away by how much they crash. But they sure are pretty!
    Must have been something pretty stuffed with that. I run about four macs on an ongoing basis, system crashes extremely rare. Nothing is perfect but no complaints. When I do have crashes, usually I'm doing something weird (i.e. I know what the issue is likely caused by), or it's a specific piece of software (and doesn't affect the system) - mostly one I don't use.

    But that's just my anecdata.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Armoured For This Useful Post:

    americaninmoscow (23-05-2018)

  5. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanked: 572
    Quote Originally Posted by Benedikt View Post
    the only thing i do not have is an accumulator back up. i did not buy one when they were available at Media Markt because they were so expensive, that time. In our building there is lots of construction going on, does happen frequently power goes off for a minute or so. so i set the -save- not every 3 minutes. but every minute. when typing menus or the likes. and a crash, where everything just drops and goes black, never happened to me. maybe the older Mac's,mine is a mid 2007 already, were constructed sturdier than the new ones?
    It sounds like you are using a desktop computer (iMac?).

    If you live in a place where there are frequent black or brownouts, you may be better served by a laptop or notebook - it will run off battery if the power goes out. Or just buy a notebook when you upgrade your computer next.

    With newer ones, you can easily hook up a monitor, keyboard and mouse (through a hub if you like), and use it exactly as you are now, rarely or never turning it off if you want. I do this sometimes and when set up right, the difference between it and a desktop is unnoticeable - except that when the power goes out (infrequently where I am), only the monitor goes dark instead of the computer shutting down, and when the power comes up, the monitor does too.

    Plus you can go sit on the balcony or wherever you like.

  6. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanked: 572
    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Wally View Post
    If you can change your battery you have a very old Mac. Like back when they were good.
    I worried about this when I got first notebook with no replaceable batteries.

    Batteries are a lot better than they used to be - I haven't had a notebook battery die in seven or eight years. And never in one with a built-in nonreplaceable battery.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Armoured For This Useful Post:

    americaninmoscow (23-05-2018)

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    moscow
    Posts
    571
    Thanked: 285
    Quote Originally Posted by Benedikt View Post
    i wonder what you use the MAC for? or how you use it? fair enough I use mine -only- for personal things. no big graphics, no games, no fancy downloads. though for work i have some 10 000 technical cards, menus,food photoes and other work related things. never any problem.
    the only thing i do not have is an accumulator back up. i did not buy one when they were available at Media Markt because they were so expensive, that time. In our building there is lots of construction going on, does happen frequently power goes off for a minute or so. so i set the -save- not every 3 minutes. but every minute. when typing menus or the likes. and a crash, where everything just drops and goes black, never happened to me. maybe the older Mac's,mine is a mid 2007 already, were constructed sturdier than the new ones?
    Making/compiling/rendering large videos and graphic files....(in no order)

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanked: 572
    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    Making/compiling/rendering large videos and graphic files....(in no order)
    Were the problems/crashes with the programs or the system?

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Armoured For This Useful Post:

    americaninmoscow (23-05-2018)

  11. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    moscow
    Posts
    571
    Thanked: 285
    Quote Originally Posted by Armoured View Post
    Were the problems/crashes with the programs or the system?
    That is a great point - and distinction. Many times it was the adobe software we were using, although a few times it was imovie and a few times it was a system crash, maybe it was because of updates. Honestly I don't remember. I have had a MacAir for a couple years but hardly have pushed it to its full specs. I was super excited to have one of those gorgeous 30x monitors with all the bells and whistles and I couldnt believe it when I was finally pushed it hard, and crash.. Was it the software? The os? Dunno and didn't care, it was just a big let down but I just got used to it happening.

  12. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    moscow
    Posts
    571
    Thanked: 285
    I guess I was just suprised that macs actually have problems as well.

  13. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    TPE
    Posts
    20,896
    Thanked: 2644
    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    I guess I was just suprised that macs actually have problems as well.
    Well... They originally have limited the number of possible HW configurations to run OS and application SW, so the idea itself was quite effective till the certain moment. Just later on the almighty and comprehensive external factor, entropy, took its power - they just gave up to the "cost down" and TTM mantras in the terms of code polishing/debugging.
    I've just passed through similar situation in early 200x with server equipment from Intel, and many of my colleagues with HP a bit later.
    All the world's Kremlin,
    And all the men and women merely agents

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to FatAndy For This Useful Post:

    americaninmoscow (23-05-2018)

  15. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanked: 572
    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    That is a great point - and distinction. Many times it was the adobe software we were using, although a few times it was imovie and a few times it was a system crash, maybe it was because of updates. Honestly I don't remember. I have had a MacAir for a couple years but hardly have pushed it to its full specs. I was super excited to have one of those gorgeous 30x monitors with all the bells and whistles and I couldnt believe it when I was finally pushed it hard, and crash.. Was it the software? The os? Dunno and didn't care, it was just a big let down but I just got used to it happening.
    In my experience, sometimes installations get borked and one needs to start over from scratch (using backups). Rare, but it happens. (Mind I have two-three macs that have years of cruft going back for ages that haven't been problems - but I've had it happen).

    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    I guess I was just suprised that macs actually have problems as well.
    Nothing is immune from some problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by FatAndy View Post
    Well... They originally have limited the number of possible HW configurations to run OS and application SW, so the idea itself was quite effective till the certain moment. Just later on the almighty and comprehensive external factor, entropy, took its power - they just gave up to the "cost down" and TTM mantras in the terms of code polishing/debugging.
    I've just passed through similar situation in early 200x with server equipment from Intel, and many of my colleagues with HP a bit later.
    All things made by man...

  16. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanked: 572
    Quote Originally Posted by americaninmoscow View Post
    I guess I was just suprised that macs actually have problems as well.
    BTW, most of the times I've had problems with macs, more often than not it has been a disk problem - minor stuff but can steal lead to weird unexplained problems.

    Several different ways to deal with it, reboot while holding the shift key (so-called safe boot) runs the disk repair program is easiest (only disadvantage is you get no information about what is being fixed or even if that was a problem). Also had hard drives fail (as can happen with any system that uses hard drives).

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Armoured For This Useful Post:

    FatAndy (23-05-2018)

  18. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    TPE
    Posts
    20,896
    Thanked: 2644
    Quote Originally Posted by Armoured View Post
    In my experience, sometimes installations get borked and one needs to start over from scratch (using backups).
    Накатить с нуля in Russian.
    All the world's Kremlin,
    And all the men and women merely agents

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •