littleangels        English Nanny
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Work Permit to Teach English aboad

Work Permit to Teach English aboad

Hello expat.ru, I am new to this forum so let me introduce myself. My name is Kevin Yang and I am a Canadian (born and raised).

I'm about to embark on a dream of travelling the world to teach English to foreigners. I have a BSc from the University of Toronto and I plan on obtaining my CerTESOL certificate (similar to TEFL) from the Rose of York Language School in London, England. After completing the course, I plan on travelling around Europe(France, Spain, Netherlands, Greece, Italy, Germany, Turkey, etc) for a few months before I land in Russia.

My first country of choice to teach English is Russia. I plan on coming to Russia around February of 2014 in Sochi to witness the Winter Olympics. After the Olympics are over, I plan on travelling up to Moscow to find a school that is wiling to give me the opportunity to teach English.

Because I am a Canadian citizen, I need a travel visa to enter Russia. Most likely I will enter russia on a tourist VISA.

My question is will I need to obtain a work permit when I'm still in Canada or is it possible for me to obtain a work permit while I'm in Russia on a tourist VISA?

Thank you for your time and I apologize for this long and winded post.

Quote Originally Posted by Kyang8589 View Post
    Most likely I will enter russia on a tourist VISA.
    It is not legal to work on a tourist visa in Russia, some take the chance anyway, your risk is: Out of Russia, not welcome in Russia for some years.
    Employer risk is that he may have to support Putin with a lot of money.

My question is will I need to obtain a work permit when I'm still in Canada or is it possible for me to obtain a work permit while I'm in Russia on a tourist VISA?