littleangels        English Nanny
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Permanent ban for Roja. Suggestion?

Permanent ban for Roja. Suggestion?

As it is widely thought this was another reincarnation of a previously permanently banned poster, I wonder if it possible to ban specific IP addresses as well as a user name?

Although that would not stop such a person finding another PC, it would inconvenience him by severly reducing the accessability of re-registering under yet another name where he is, without cost or effort. And if he abuses a friend's hospitality he is accountable to them for their being restricted!

I am not technical so don't know if what I say makes sence or indeed is possible. Or possibly too easily to overcome to be worthwhile.
    If you ride or just dream of it ...
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=533442

The problem is that if he turns his modem off for a few hours, he will be assigned a new IP address - that's how most ISPs work.

I bow to a greater knowledge. I thought the actual PC had the permanant identifier, not its current connection.

Note to self: stick to what you know (Which is not a lot!!)
    If you ride or just dream of it ...
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=533442

Quote Originally Posted by DavidB View Post
    The problem is that if he turns his modem off for a few hours, he will be assigned a new IP address - that's how most ISPs work.
    oooooh! So interesting!
    A friend of the Devil is a friend of mine

Quote Originally Posted by Swordfish90293 View Post
    oooooh! So interesting!
    I have it from the highest sources that Roja was not Willy. I accept that and assume it is pure coincidence that Roja and Patriot have all stopped posting at the same time. Stay tuned at 11 for more details; I doubt we've heard the last from these interesting chaps.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack17 View Post