littleangels        English Nanny
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Vdnh?

Vdnh?

my first post, guys and gals.. i've been recently to the VDNH exhibition as i've always to see those golden statutes around the big fountain. i took a shot of one of the statutes. btw, i counted 16 golden beauties each representing a Soviet republic. but there were 15 republics, if my memory serves me right. anyway, i am a layman in history and i will post a pic once i accumulate enough points..)

would you mind sharing your pictures of VDNH as well?

Hi, Toro! Welcome to the forum!

I have lived near VDNKh since childhood, and it is really great to hear about your interest to this location. BTW: why are you interested exactly in it? Do you also like the sculpture of the Worker and the Collective Farm Woman (Rabochiy i Kolkhoznitsa) by Vera Mukhina?

I have some pictures at my home computer, will try to download them a bit later.

It's a good question reg. 16 figures and 15 republics. Puzzles myself. Maybe the 16th is some symbol? Will have to do some research on that!
    festina lente

There were Fifteen republics, plus Mongolia, which is also represented on the fountain, so 16 in all. Here is one of my pictures:
    [ame="http://www.flickr.com/photos/seriykotik/155473617/in/set-72157594424153239/"]Fountain of the friendship of peoples on Flickr - Photo Sharing!@@AMEPARAM@@http://farm1.static.flickr.com/61/155473617_8bbf39d2cc_m.jpg@@AMEPARAM@@155473617@@AMEPARAM@@8bbf39d2cc[/ame]

I haven't seen Vera Mukhina's statue for several years- is it back in place yet?

[ame="http://www.flickr.com/photos/seriykotik/110376306/in/set-72157594424153239/"]Factory worker and Collective farmer on Flickr - Photo Sharing!@@AMEPARAM@@http://farm1.static.flickr.com/50/110376306_36653191fa_m.jpg@@AMEPARAM@@110376306@@AMEPARAM@@36653191fa[/ame]

If you want to see more of her work have a look at the clulpture in Парк Дружбы, near Речной Вокзал.