PDA

View Full Version : British International School - opinions?

xt-tsi
22-06-2004, 18:13
Another thread has made comments about Russian schools but I'm seeing various comments here about the British International School. Several have said it's mediocre - anyone able to elaborate? It's getting to crunch time here...we're moving over to beautiful Moscow this summer...

Thanks!

XT

Bo Selecta!
24-06-2004, 15:42
Mediocre is certainly a nice way to describe some of the staff there- some of them are plain barmy

sugarbaby
07-07-2004, 21:30
I'm a student there. I've been studying there for three years. I wouldn't say the teachers are barmy...the 'bad' ones are leaving or have already left. Otherwise...the atmosphere there is more or less 'ok'. There's certainly a bit of tension between students from different nationalities. It's like this- there are two groups...the russians and the expats. The level of education is better than at the AAS (Anglo-American school), and I'd say that the BIS is better. From then on, it depends on which building you want your child/children to attend. I go to School 3 (secondary school in the southern campus).

irlandka
07-07-2004, 21:37
I am a tutor to a family who wants extra English for their BIS-enrolled kids. RE. English the success seems average (the non-native students are functional, but not fluent after 4 years there). RE. Russian my co-tutor says less then average. RE. the rest of the curriculum- I spent 3 lessons this past spring explaining the connection between the Romans and the Victorians to my student (grade 4) as there was no apparent "link" in the literature provided for their history lessons.
In my view, it is neither a "British" school, nor an "International" school, nor a "Russian" school. And I don't see how the curriculum can cover any of these.

sugarbaby
08-07-2004, 15:21