PDA

View Full Version : Creating a character on stage...

Transparent Theatre
18-06-2008, 04:12
Since both Hazelnut and Gennady said they were interested in discussing this further, I thought I would open a thread for that very purpose.

First, I should explain what I meant about creating Shakespearian characters :) One of the difficulties I have with Stanislavsky (!) is that while I do have past experiences of, for example....
my car refusing to start in extreme cold weather being humiliated in a lesson at school in front of the other kids my father dying

and I can see how those experiences might be used to build other livable experiences...

... I have no experience, for example, in being a mass-murderer. Or in robbing a bank. Or of being critically injured in some kind of accident. Nor have I got anything CLOSE to those experiences... I'm sorry, but killing a cockroach I found in a hotel bathroom in Kursk isn't usable to build up the character of Richard III. No-one cares if a cockroach is killed, but people do care if other people are killed. So the experiences aren't the same, and don't exist in the same continuum.

How many of us know any mass-murderers... so that we would know how they behave, what they do? So here's the second problem... even if we could accurately play a real mass-murderer, the audience wouldn't recognise that behaviour, because it's unknown to them. So when we play (or cast, or direct) "evil" characters, we are constructing an artificial set of behavioural traits which appear credible to an audience full of people who have never actually seen real live evil people. And maybe they seem realistic and credible to us, too? But does a real mass-murderer act nervously, looking behind him to see if he is observed? How do we know? Maybe he doesn't care?