PDA

View Full Version : Which car to buy in Russia ?

BUell_X1
16-04-2008, 14:28
Hi all,

I am moving to Moscow and will be leaving near the center around the bielaruskaya metro. I will get the double Russian Nationnality in a year time.

I would like your advice on buying a car in Moscow from peoples that are using the their car often to moscow and to travel "around" Russia.

What car seem to be the more suitable for russian roads in and outside of the city (appart from the lada or other russian car) ?

What is the real danger/issues that we can encounter with the militsia ?

Thank Alex

ezik
16-04-2008, 21:27
Now, for the legal and militsia stuff: get the car papers in order, have an international driver's license or a translated copy of your original one, or (even better) a Russian one.

I've been driving with my International license here for three years. Sure, if I made a mistake, the cops tried to take it. Threw money at the problem and it was solved. If that wouldn't have been successful: they never, ever, actually asked for my ORIGINAL driver's license, so in the worst case it would be the damage of 15 Euro for an Int. Drivers License and the cost for making a notarial copy of my real one.

Recently, throwing money at the problem, i.e. bribing, has become a lot more risky. Some police cars have hidden cams and if YOU try to bribe, they may actually catch you for the traffic offense and (much more serious) a bribing attempt.

Normally, if you get pulled over, you need to sit inside the police car. DON'T make any bribing attempts. Wait for the Police officer to start acting really slowly with filling in the papers that are used to take your license. Then, act like a tourist and ask where and when you can pay the fine. Ask him if there is any way to pay a fine in order for him not to take your license. Tell him that you are willing to pay a LEGAL fine, if there is a possibility.