PDA

View Full Version : Question for teachers from the US about taxes

stim
14-03-2008, 11:18
Everyone-
I am a freelance teacher from the USA, and was wondering if any other American citizens could tell me what they do about filing their taxes. Basically none of the schools I work for is willing to provide me with a letter verifying how much money I made; still, I need to file my US taxes. Can someone give me some advice?
Tim

Bels
14-03-2008, 11:55
If you're freelance, aren't you considered self emplyed. There aren't you the one supposed to provide the invoice or bill to the school. If not, you've had cash deals and it's not verifiable. Otherwise make your own invoices to supply to your American tax, because that's the proper procedure.

As a freelancer you are not employed, and the schools have no obligation to provide you with anything.

But what surprises me is that schools don't ask for receipts or invoices in return for payment of your services.

Proper Bostonian
14-03-2008, 19:20
I'm not a teacher but have always filed U.S. income taxes without any documentation from the organizations that employed me. I file as self-employed, list the name(s) of organizations that paid me & the amount converted into dollars. Have never submitted 1099s or other documentation & never had a problem. In case you are not aware, U.S. citizens do not pay federal income tax if their income is less than $80,000/year and they meet the requirements concerning time spent in the USA. I forget the # of days one can be in the States, but do know it's less than one month. The information is available on the IRS's web site. However, be aware that no matter what your earnings are you must file a return & you are still responsible for SSI & FICA which are worse than the federal tax. There are lots of forms to be filled in if you file as I do (self-employed with foreign earned income exemption), so you might want to hire an accountant in your home state.

stim
17-03-2008, 10:55