PDA

View Full Version : Temp residence Required Birth Cert !

byrneofmoscow
04-03-2008, 22:37
Hi
I am married to a Russian, I am Irish.
On a point of information I was at the FMS office for the first time last (Nagorna District) Thursday. A lot of posts state that you do not need a birth cert translated and notarized in fact the FMS officer told my wife that I did indeed need a translated copy of my birth cert which should be notarized.
Perhaps the requirements have changed I can't tell.

In addition my wife lived in Karalof outside Moscow some time back, and now lives in Moscow. The officer also stated the she (my wife)required a sprafka from the local office in Karalof stating that she, was registered there for whatever period she lived there and that she moved to her present address.

I have been plodding through this process for the last two months, it has not been easy, and still it goes on.

As a by the way when we visited the FMS office the officer handed out one form, (legal size)whilst two forms are required. When asked for a second for the officer said that we should go to the local post office and copy the form. Perhaps there is a shortage of paper in the office !!!!

Bels
04-03-2008, 23:03
FMS offices do vary so I have to be careful. The regulations do not state thatyou need a birth certificate. I was asked for a birth certificate, but they were wrong and we asked for our application to be passed through anyway. My application was successful. If you have a passport and other documents of which is linked as proof of your birth, why would you need a birth certificate. They can easily check these records on the website anyway, and they will ask for a list od=f your family of their birthdays, their birth places and their professions. My son is in the Royal Navy training to be in a nuclear submarine :) and that was ok.