PDA

View Full Version : Do you need students? Are you good?

Will
19-02-2008, 09:36
Ok, so I'm an English teacher, been at it 10 years here and have a good client list through word of mouth. But being a bit domesticated I lost touch with the ex-pat scene. Now I find I have this terrible problem of turning people away and not being able to refer them to other teachers.
The few other folks I know in teaching right now are new to the game or unprofessional or unreliable and I am wary of referring serious students to people who will mess up.
I don't know if this is covered here somewhere in this section of the forum, but I have been thinking an email network for professional teachers would be a blessing, I don't want to refer people to schools, but if there are serious teachers out there who could use high paying students then pm me.
I'm sure we all get students who just can't be slotted into schedules or who are in the wrong part of the city or who are wrong for whatever reason.
Answers on a postcard to the usual address, or pm as you prefer.
Same goes for translating work or copy editing.
Setting up some kind of network would benefit everyone.
Or maybe this could be an aspect of the club Kira Hagen is setting up.

kira_hagen
25-02-2008, 01:53
Or maybe this could be an aspect of the club Kira Hagen is setting up.

Shuffling around students we can't schedule is one of the things we talk about every meeting, actually. The next one is on the 2nd at 6 pm between Beleruskaya and Mayakovskaya. There was some talk at the last meeting of a location change (to next door at Help Bar). I'm writing a post now to check people's opinions on that.

Kira

Bels
25-02-2008, 09:36
There have been many attempts on this subject of teachers grouping together for various reasons reasons. And one of these reasons is what you state, a group or network of teachers of various areas and skills etc seeking students and people of different areas and requirements.