PDA

View Full Version : To be or not to be ?

Rene75
08-03-2004, 03:29
Hello Guys!
I do need an advise from you, experienced expats !
Here is my story: I 'm a German, married Russian girl. We met in England (worked together) and 10 months later we got married in Russia. Couple of month later we went to U.S. to work for 1.5 year. Here comes the point. 1.5 year is over and time to make a decision what we actually gonna do. And here is a problem. She wants us to live in Moscow in spite of our earlier agreement to live in Germany once we've done with our contract in US. On one hand I don't mind on the other hand come questions: what it is like to live there ? how difficult to find a job ? (I'm a chef), would I be able to make friends without speaking Russian? and so on ...
Just tell me, guys , do you think it's worth going there or I just have to put my foot down and make her forget about the whole idea.

:confused:

moscowmail
08-03-2004, 10:36
As a chef, if you are good, the money and perks can be great, some chefs here earn anything from $8,000 to $35,000 per month, it is rumored some earn more...

Choice between here and Germany, in my opinion, no contest, this place is de best....

Not speaking Russian isn't a major problem, you could still get a job, and on a social level, the expat communitiy is probably closer now than it has ever been...

trebor
08-03-2004, 12:32
Rene75
i am a chef here in Russia (previously in Moscow).
While what MM says is true, it would be very unrealistic of you to think you could come to Moscow without an introduction and get that kind of money. Those salaries are few and far between and are getting scarce as more and more foriegn chefs come here, driving up competition.
I will send you a PM with some info and contacts.
Best of luck
trebor

moscowmail
08-03-2004, 12:36