PDA

View Full Version : why to open an account in a Russian bank?

luxa
07-12-2013, 18:39
Hi,

I am new in Moscow. After reading interesting discussions on opening bank accounts in Russia by foreigners I have a stupid question. Why to do it? I guess it has something to do with exchange rates, right? I have a bank account at home in Switzerland but since I am going to leave here for a while, about 2 years or more, what would be the advantage of opening Russian account?

Thank you:)

penka
07-12-2013, 18:54
Hey luxa and welcome to the site!

Well, given you will not be earning your money in Russia or be otherwise eligible for the Russian tax burden, two moments remain the way I see it. The rate of exchange, mentioned by you and the potential withdrawal fees - check the latter with your bank (I'm talking the Bankomat withdrawals here).

Benedikt
07-12-2013, 21:47
Hi,

I am new in Moscow. After reading interesting discussions on opening bank accounts in Russia by foreigners I have a stupid question. Why to do it? I guess it has something to do with exchange rates, right? I have a bank account at home in Switzerland but since I am going to leave here for a while, about 2 years or more, what would be the advantage of opening Russian account?

a bank here in Russia. find out from your bank back home if they have branches here in Russia. and than you open your bank account.YOUR bank speaks your language, understands you and will take care of you what you need and what is best for you.
if your bank has no offices here use Raiffeisen. For MY needs ( i am and Austrian) the best bank there is. -Raiffeisen connect- lets you do money transfers, most payments here in Russia you can do via internet. a ATM on every corner, and depending on the state of your account, so are the limits, or no limit, of your withdrawal..

luxa
12-12-2013, 00:48
Thank you Penka and Benedikt! Sorry I am late with reply.