PDA

View Full Version : 'Expedited' temporary residency method?

VladSkywolf
22-11-2007, 09:01
Well, everything is ready for me to submit my application for a temporary residency permit. Now it comes down to a matter of time. As I understand it, these permits normally take around six months to process. I, however, have the bad luck of having a visa which expires in 5 months. If at all possible, I'd like to avoid the expense and the hassle of having to obtain another one, even a short term one.

So my question is, what might be the best way to request 'expedited' service? :) I've heard of some people getting these things in a 4 1/2 month to 5 month timeframe, but I don't know if they lucked out with normal processing or managed to get 'special' processing. I'll be the first to admit I'm not very experienced at 'greasing the wheels', but if that's what it takes I'm willing to do it (when in Rome...). I have a family here so I don't want to leave them to go overseas for another visa, preferring instead to invest this money towards speedier processing. What can I say to the officials without being so blatant about it? Should this even be attempted?

BrianS
22-11-2007, 09:48
I think the 4 1/2 to 5 month people maybe got lucky with normal processing, and I know exactly what you mean as mine has already been filed for over a month, but I just got back from getting a 3 month visa in Kiev (I had to stay in Kiev 10 days after I turned in my visa application before they would give me my visa). I think the appropriate thing to say maybe when you are sitting in the office with the official as he/she checks your documents is that you were wondering if there was any way possible to expedite the processing. Then, with any luck, he'll take it from there and discuss your options with you. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

22-11-2007, 11:50