PDA

View Full Version : Spouse visa? (Both Americans)

kira_hagen
21-11-2007, 12:11
My husband and I have been teaching here for two years on business visas, but his company is offering a work visa and contract now. I'm freelance and don't have a similar situation. They've said I just need a spouse/ dependent visa in relation to him, so have to get our marriage certificate from the States. No problem, it's stored with his family and can get mailed tomorrow, but does anyone know if we need anything else? Special stamps, notarized copies, etc?

Thanks a bunch.

Kira

Bels
21-11-2007, 12:45
I'm not sure on this one, but that's what a forum is all about isn't it. You may need a residency in residency? Or is there something else because of your husband. As a freelancer you might need an entrepeneurs registration from the local tax office.

VladSkywolf
21-11-2007, 13:27
They've said I just need a spouse/ dependent visa in relation to him, so have to get our marriage certificate from the States. No problem, it's stored with his family and can get mailed tomorrow, but does anyone know if we need anything else? Special stamps, notarized copies, etc?

If this visa is going to be applied for here (and if this follows the usual pattern for using foreign legal documents in Russia), I strongly suspect they may require your marriage certificate to be Apostilled (a type of international notary seal). Better to have his family do that before they send it here. Once you receive it, it may have to be translated into Russian and notarized (by a Russian notary).

This is not definite info for your specific case, but it's the procedure I had to follow before using any legal US documents here in Russia (besides my passport :)).

boscoe
21-11-2007, 13:43
Just been sent this from a large Foreign company working here in Russia...

New Government Resolution N 635 from 04.10.2007 "On the Introduction of Changes in
Visas...." entered into force on October 17, 2007.