PDA

View Full Version : Copy of Diploma

mk182
21-12-2012, 12:40
In order to get a work visa I need a notarized and apostilled copy of my diploma. I went to the notary today and they said that you can't get diplomas notarized. They said the best thing I could do is get a certified copy from the school I graduated at. I then asked if that certified copy could be apostilled and they said no.

So what am I supposed to do? Has anyone had to do this?

Matt24
21-12-2012, 12:44
In order to get a work visa I need a notarized and apostilled copy of my diploma. I went to the notary today and they said that you can't get diplomas notarized. They said the best thing I could do is get a certified copy from the school I graduated at. I then asked if that certified copy could be apostilled and they said no.

It kind of depends on nationality, local notaries cannot certify foreign issued diplomas, what you need to do is appostil (spelling?) it on your home jurisdiction - in the UK there is a special office in Milton Keyenes that does this and the detail is on the UK embassy site / in the US I think you need to apply to the Attorney Generals office of the State in which the diploma was issued

mk182
21-12-2012, 12:54
It kind of depends on nationality, local notaries cannot certify foreign issued diplomas, what you need to do is appostil (spelling?) it on your home jurisdiction - in the UK there is a special office in Milton Keyenes that does this and the detail is on the UK embassy site / in the US I think you need to apply to the Attorney Generals office of the State in which the diploma was issued

Sorry, I should have specified, yes I'm in the US now. Ok so I should just not worry about the notary and have it appostil (yeah its a weird word)?

I guess I can always get it notarized in Russia if they really need it. The appostil is the main thing.

Hans.KK
21-12-2012, 13:01
First you get an Apostille stamp on your diploma in your home country.