PDA

View Full Version : Is bread 'sacred' in Russia?

Samza
15-10-2012, 21:15
In short I am trying to figure out if my Russian colleague is a bit loopy or telling the truth.

I am a teacher at an affluent school and a couple of weeks ago I did a math project in which I had students glue a certain number of those fish crackers on paper in shapes (counting & division.) Proud of them I put their work up for everyone to see.

The Russian director forced me to take them down! ...Being she is quite paranoid of appearances/parents she said at first that she was afraid the kids were going to try and eat them off the walls (LOL!)

Last week Friday she took down my Halloween wall hanging sheet because playful skeletons were popping out of graves with small crucifixes on them. Granted staff/kids are 100% Muslim but not so religious as to you know actually: not drink, fast for Ramadan, pray five times a day or admit to anyone that they are actually Muslim:sick:

Too tired to deal with this behaviour again I just let it slide, but somehow we got back to the fish crackers and she said the parents were so "shocked" to see fish crackers on the wall because "bread is sacred in Russia." Funny didn't mention this at all a couple of weeks ago.

Is my advisor telling the truth or just loopy and on a possible power trip?

Merry Mary
15-10-2012, 21:35
There's an old Russian saying - Bread is the head of everything. Oldfashioned people wouldn't let you throw bread away or do anything else 'violent' like that. Nowadays it doesn't work like that. Russia (esp Moscow) is not that poor anymore so people don't care about food, and bread in particular, that much. I'd say your boss is acting weird anyway.

martpark
15-10-2012, 22:40
In short I am trying to figure out if my Russian colleague is a bit loopy or telling the truth.