PDA

View Full Version : U.S. Tourist Visa for Russian Spouse

sashitaski
29-10-2007, 18:51
Hi All,
I am an American citizen, but currently living in Canada during the academic year where I am in the last year of my BA program. I met my now-husband in 2002 and have been living with him (and working and studying) in Moscow every summer and some winters since then.
This past July we had a Russian wedding. Next in our plans we wanted to have an American wedding so that it could be in a church and all of my friends and family could attend (and also so my husband could finally meet my family!). This wedding is planned for next May. After that we will be going back to Moscow to live. As I mentioned before, I studied and work there, speak very good Russian, etc. I have also been accepted into an MA program (for which I have documentation) that will take place in Moscow, but through an American university.
Since my husband only wants to go over for a month next year, and then we'll move back to Moscow, obviously we can't apply for a spouse (immigration) visa, only tourist. But he applied for a tourist visa and was rejected on the grounds that having an American wife automatically means you'll immigrate. Now that's just stupid! If we wanted to immigrate, we would be applying for an immigration visa! Because his chances would be much better, he'd be legal, etc.etc.
We prepared for his interview thoroughly. I wrote an explicit letter of invitation, we had pictures and e-mails (dated!) back to 2003, proof of his work and studies, proof of trips taken together, proof that I had spent every summer (and worked in Russia), and proof that I have been accepted into the MA program in Moscow. In addition I provided proof that the U.S. wedding had been booked (church and reception venue) and paid for!