PDA

View Full Version : Best School To Be Employed As An English Teacher In Russia?

wisdom
04-10-2012, 18:40
I am a 38-year old native English speaker born and raised in the United States. I possess no English teaching certification. However, I am a 4-year college graduate with a Bachelor of Arts In Communications. And I posses professional experience in business and technical writing and speaking. Generally, I have an outstanding mastery of the English language. I know very little of the Russian language. My wife is Russian and I live in the United States currently.

My question is, what is the best English teaching school for me to become employed with in Russia? Additionally, what is the process for making all that happen? Also, taking into account, I might like to turn my employment into my own business at some point.

celia
08-10-2012, 21:40
First you have to ask yourself what kind of a job you want. Do you want a job teaching business English only, or would you like a variety of students? I think that generally it is easier to get work teaching general English rather than business English (even companies seem to want their employees to learn general English).

Probably the fastest way of qualifying is to take a one-month long CELTA course. (You're welcome to apply to schools without any qualifications but I'm not sure whether you would get a job). You can then apply to schools and when you find one that wants to hire you, the school will send you a letter of invitation and you will be able to obtain a visa on the basis of that letter of invitation.

I shared a flat with two Language Link interns - Language Link seems to have a programme which allows you to attend a month-long course (cheaper than the CELTA) and then you work at a school as an intern. The wage isn't wonderful but you are provided with a shared flat for free.

Please don't hesitate to PM me if you have any further questions. Also take a look at other threads on this site.

andymackem