PDA

View Full Version : English grammar

celia
09-08-2012, 17:45
Hi, I'm an English language teacher in Moscow, and I thought that since I have some free time, I would begin a thread where you can ask me questions you have about English grammar. You're welcome to post written work to be critiqued, and if you'd like me to look at posts you've written on this site (yes, a few contain errors! :nono:) just cut and paste them and I'll discuss them on this thread. Please don't post other people's writing, just your own....:thumbsup:

robertmf
09-08-2012, 18:12
... Please don't post other people's writing, just your own....:thumbsup:

You can also do vocabulary - beginning with the word "plagiarism" :D

celia
09-08-2012, 18:43
No, I just had this vision of people asking me to critique other people's posts on this site.

I have a lesson this evening, but after the lesson I may just give an impromptu lesson here regarding typical errors of Russian students...:book:

celia
09-08-2012, 18:57
I've borrowed a sentence from a recent post to give a short English lesson on:

"I'm exactly 2 months here in moscow today" - what's the problem?

celia
09-08-2012, 22:36
When we talk about a period in time, we use the past tense if the period is finished, or the present perfect tense if the period isn't finished or if it has just finished.

So: I lived in Africa from 2000 to 2002 (finished)

BUT "I have lived in Moscow for two months" (not finished - I am still in Moscow, so we use the present perfect tense (have + participle)

Or "I have been in Moscow for two months" (present perfect).

Both of these sentences are correct.

If the verb is one that describes an activity taking place over a period of time (such as living), and if the activity hasn't stopped, we can use the present perfect continuous: "I have been living in Moscow for two months."