PDA

View Full Version : Trying to open an English school

GaNozri
18-10-2007, 13:17
Hi all!

I am seriously considering starting up a new language school in the Moscow region (closest podmoskovie). I scanned the 10,001 schools in Moscow that come up on Google, but found only one - Languagelink, that advertises franchising services.

Please give me some advice as to which schools are the better ones and are open to a franchising scheme.

Perhaps, some of you would like to go in with me as partners? That would be great, as I have an MBA in finance, but no teaching experience.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

alterego
18-10-2007, 14:07
I see no advantage in going with a franchise. Only additional costs for you.

Just get a few teachers and experienced administrators, a Russian lawyer and a Russian accountant.

Oh, and don't forget the salesman.

iamjustinmiller
18-10-2007, 15:31
I can teach if need be, provided you can pay a minimum of $20 an hour.

Bels
18-10-2007, 18:17
Yes I'd go along with the above post. You can build up a school on a shoe-string or pay a $100,000 fo a Franchise, when you can do it much better.

However if your so stuck on a Franchise or buying an existing school try tefl.com You could always try English First as that is a franchise.

If you do it on your own then you have no restrictions on how you run that business and also you choose what materials you are going to use rather than using their garbage.

Building up a business is not as expensive as these franchises make it out to be.

GaNozri
19-10-2007, 00:05
I agree. It makes sense from a financial standpoint to go on your own. But if you are like me - with no teaching experience, no knowledge of which methodology to use etc., you are in fact giving your business away to the people you hire. I would only do it if: 1) I had a partner who is a professional teacher, 2) If I got some solid training from someone who is knowledgable.