PDA

View Full Version : Visa question

jasc1976
06-07-2012, 00:12
Hi All,

I have been working in Moscow now for 12 months doing the newbie job at a McEnglish school, I have been offered an extended stay with them for as long as I like but only on a full time basis and not part time as I had requested, however as all ESL teachers are aware there is much more $$$ to be made outside these leeching schools then within.

My question then is this..
What visa are the teachers who are not currently employed with a school using, are they teaching on a business visa and returning home every year to renew and hoping not to get caught by the authorities or is there some other way to obtain a work visa without the school giving you the invitation.

I don't want to risk any chance of being caught by authorities teaching on a business visa and be deported, having to leave behind my wife.

In advance thanks for any and all help.

Jas :bowdown:

BabyFirefly
06-07-2012, 00:39
Every year? With a business visa you'd have to do a visa run every 90 days, and they're not cheap.

If your wife is Russian, apply for a TRP maybe

jasc1976
06-07-2012, 00:56
Thanks Babyfirefly for your response.

Whilst my wife is Russian she is also not from Moscow so as I was aware this affects the TRP situation as the quota is linked to the city of birth of the spouse, hopefully I am wrong in this information.

Someone else mentioned to me that starting a business with Russian partners was a way to achieve this goal as well, is this a possible option and does anyone know of someone who has done this?

DavidB
06-07-2012, 01:29
Do you own an apartment in Moscow or Moscow Oblast? Or maybe you have a close friend or relative who would be willing to let you register in their apartment? If so, you could get a residence permit. I think that would be the cheapest and most tax efficient way (excluding illegal options).