PDA

View Full Version : Darrick in the US going to Russia in a year

DarrickEvenson
02-05-2012, 23:02
Hello,

My name is Darrick. I am a 51 year old white American male. There are now about 20,000 Russians and Ukrainians in my city of about 1 million. So, I thought I'd go to Russia to teach English and learn Russian. I am studying Russian two hours a day, but I'm sure I won't be able to speak it until I'm around Russians for at least 4 or 5 months. Sorry, but Russians don't seem to pronounce their language. They seem to mumble it. I'm really gonna have to get an "ear" for this language. Spanish is much easier. They pronounce good.

I'm going to Russia to get married. To get married I must have a job in Russia. Since I'm not computer expert or surgeon or businessman or hockey player, that leaves teaching English.

American women in their 30s and 40s, if they look like anything at all, demand you own your own home and business. And quite a few Plain Janes want the same thing. So, I'll try in Russia, where most people live in small apartments in high rises and most people don't own cars.

Well, that's about it for me. I'm going to continue to study Russian two to three hours a day for another 14 months, and get a TESL, then hopefully some school in Russia will hire me and I'm off to Russia to freeze my ass off. I'll see you when I get there.

Judge
02-05-2012, 23:31
Hi Darrick, welcome to the site... You will have no trouble finding work as an English teacher here,before you make the move post an ad in the ''Lessons Section'' ,this way you might line up some students before you even move here.
Where in Russia will you live?
For some solid advice about how to get your own students, see Yak's post (4) in this thread...
http://expat.ru/forum/showthread.php?p=986522#post986522
Good luck with your move...If you have any question about moving to Russia, feel free to ask..

DarrickEvenson
02-05-2012, 23:49