PDA

View Full Version : help a football fan if you can

peppermintpaddy
11-03-2012, 03:55
Hi there,im a newbie to the forum,and ive had a look thru the sports section but can't find what i'm looking for.
I plan to come to Moscow in June,initially for 10 days,and I would love to go to a football match while Im here.Ive never been to Moscow before,so have very little idea of the geography or the location of the grounds.
Im not really bothered which team I watch,but ideally a Moscow "derby" match would be just ideal....I plan also to make a pilgrimage to the Eduard Strelsov stadium,and to visit the 2(?) statues to him in Moscow.I understand the former Moscow Torpedo/FCMoscow team Strelsov once played for are now in the 3rd division?There is very little usefull information on the internet on the subject.
So,can anybody offer any suggestions for attending a match in Moscow.Which grounds are within easy reach of metro stations for example,ticket prices,fixture lists, etc...thanx for any help given.....

Dino
11-03-2012, 06:31
The easiest will be to watch a Locomotive Moscow match.....the stadium is magnificent and is situated at Metro Cherkizovo....walk is 2 minutes from Metro.

Regards

Dino

Matt24
11-03-2012, 08:07
I think you'll out of luck, the season will be finished by June, the European Championships start during the first week of June this year

andymackem
11-03-2012, 12:10
Like Matt says, there's unlikely to be much football going on in June because of the Euros.

As for your other queries, the history of Torpedo and FK Moskva got pretty complicated. But the simple answer is that Torpedo is now back playing at the Streltsov stadium on Vostochnaya Ulitsa (m. Avtozavodskaya), in the National Football League (second tier). You can get more about them (in Russian, although I think there is an English version) at www.torpedo.ru. FK Moskva went bankrupt a couple of years ago: if they still exist it will be in some amateur league.