PDA

View Full Version : Marrying a Russian citizen while having a student visa

BabyFirefly
10-10-2011, 04:46
Hi,

I'm currently a student at MGU, and thus have a student visa. My boyfriend and I want to get married and to then apply for temporary residence.

I just want to know if I'm able to get married on a student visa (well, maybe a business visa since we're getting married in the summer hopefully and I might need to do a visa run for that), and if I'm able to apply for temporary residence while abroad, since I might need to come back to the US for a year for academic reasons. We *might* get married earlier IF I NEED to be in Russia while filing for temporary residence, but it's not what we want to do.

Theoretically I'd like to apply for temporary residence while abroad, get the paperwork/visa/whatever sorted, and be able to come back here without issues. However since there's some new visa rules, I don't know if I'm able to pull this off. Any advice?

rusmeister
10-10-2011, 06:34
Hi,

I'm currently a student at MGU, and thus have a student visa. My boyfriend and I want to get married and to then apply for temporary residence.

I just want to know if I'm able to get married on a student visa (well, maybe a business visa since we're getting married in the summer hopefully and I might need to do a visa run for that), and if I'm able to apply for temporary residence while abroad, since I might need to come back to the US for a year for academic reasons. We *might* get married earlier IF I NEED to be in Russia while filing for temporary residence, but it's not what we want to do.

Theoretically I'd like to apply for temporary residence while abroad, get the paperwork/visa/whatever sorted, and be able to come back here without issues. However since there's some new visa rules, I don't know if I'm able to
pull this off. Any advice?