PDA

View Full Version : What should I do??

smchilds
31-05-2011, 07:23
So, I am an English teacher. My husband is not a native English speaker. In fact his level might be pre-intermediate. I try to teach him but it doesn't amount to much. So I am looking for advice. Should I buckle down and force him to study with me? Or should I send him to language courses? The community college in my town offers a 3-week intensive course (9am-5pm) for about $1200. He is here with me now (in my town, in the USA) and learning English is imperative. But I feel a little reluctant to send him to classes when in theory i can teach him myself... hm.. :confused:

Greg
31-05-2011, 08:21
So, I am an English teacher. My husband is not a native English speaker. In fact his level might be pre-intermediate. I try to teach him but it doesn't amount to much. So I am looking for advice. Should I buckle down and force him to study with me? Or should I send him to language courses? The community college in my town offers a 3-week intensive course (9am-5pm) for about $1200. He is here with me now (in my town, in the USA) and learning English is imperative. But I feel a little reluctant to send him to classes when in theory i can teach him myself... hm.. :confused:

Have you ever noticed with other couples how each tends to resist influences from their own partner that they will willingly except from a total stranger? Let him learn at his own pace from outside the box, and allow him to come to you as he’s more comfortable for advice “when” he’s ready. Encourage him to attend a class outside of your relationship. (my "opinion") :)

nyinrussia
31-05-2011, 09:56
I am also a teacher, but between my husband and I it has always been better to get outside courses! Less arguments etc.

xSnoofovich
31-05-2011, 10:31
Wait a minute. If you are able to communicate with him in a language other than English, why should it matter if he speaks English or not?