PDA

View Full Version : Greetings to the Moscow expat community.

Sulla
06-04-2011, 02:07
I'm an American student about to graduate and am looking to move abroad to either Argentina or Russia. I already know a fair amount about Argentina from having lived there for one year, but not much on Russia, which is why I have joined this forum hoping to gain some insight into Russian life from the perspective of the expat.

Take care,
Sulla

franzewich
06-04-2011, 02:11
I'm an American student about to graduate and am looking to move abroad to either Argentina or Russia. I already know a fair amount about Argentina from having lived there for one year, but not much on Russia, which is why I have joined this forum hoping to gain some insight into Russian life from the perspective of the expat.

Take care,
Sulla

Hi Sulla, welcome to this forum! Moscow is SUPER! (don't know too much about the rest of Russia, though!) What exactly do you want to know about living in Russia?

tasel
06-04-2011, 08:59
HI Sulla, welcome to the forum. Feel free to ask for information you needed.

cecilep4444
07-04-2011, 22:44
Hello,
I live in Moscow since 3 years. I confirm it is a great city. What do you want to know exactly??

Sulla
09-04-2011, 12:31
Hey guys.

I suppose I'm interested in knowing how easy/hard it is to live in Moscow as an expat. If I come to Russia, I intend on supporting myself by doing freelance Spanish to English work and teaching English to Russians.

Once your tourist visa expires, what are your options for staying legally? About how much does a studio apartment in an average part of the city cost per month?

For those who teach English, is TEFL certification necessary or is it often enough to just be a native English speaker?

How diverse is the city? Are there other ethnic communities besides Eastern Europeans, Central Asians, and Chinese? Any Koreans or Hispanics? Would I be able to find spicy food in Moscow?

How expensive is food in general?