PDA

View Full Version : How do you teach Russian? What are your Russian lessons like?

shurale
27-01-2011, 18:30
I used to be a Russian teacher and I liked it.
Yesterday, out of the blue I received a good offer to teach a student.
The problem is that I am out of practice, yet I want to be good.
Any teacher wants to tell about his/her lessons? (Perhaps it will attract more students when they read your posts). Or anybody wants to praise your Russian teacher and tell about your lessons?

shurale
27-01-2011, 18:31
http://masterrussian.com/vocabulary/

smchilds
05-02-2011, 21:38
I have studied Russian with a *lot* of people, including 6 (or more?) private teachers in Moscow.
Depending on the level of the student, I would advise you to *speak* as much as possible. Especially if the person is in Moscow, likely they need lessons to communicate, not to do never ending exercises "choose the correct verb, perfect or imperfect." It's not easy to find course books which are as interesting as those made for English language, but I remember using "Rossiya Segodnya" which was not bad and at least offered articles for discussion with exercises. During the lesson write down new words, make sure that you and the student both have a list of the new words, and between lessons you can perhaps make exercises to help practice those words. Another big complaint I had was about teachers who put no effort into making passive vocabulary more active (though teaching English I also have that problem, because many of my students just throw my notes away after the lesson D:

dindi
26-02-2011, 15:59
Hi, Shurale!
Iím Russian and Iíve been teaching Russian for two years. Itís not a long time, of course, and I need to study more, but I just wanted to share some of my thoughts about teaching:)