PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Rochester New York

skitchin
13-06-2007, 10:16
Hello Everyone,

I'm currently new to this Expat forum since I will be an Expat myself soon. I'm currently in the process of moving to Moscow in the fall. I'm curious if anyone can advice me about finding work in Moscow since I have degree in Computer Science from Rochester Institute of Technology. I'm currently working as a Software Engineer at a communication firm in Rochester. I have basic Russian language skills but I would be more comfortable working at western company in Moscow where English language is the norm.

The reason why I'm moving to Moscow is that I'm going to marry a Russian woman whom I have been acquainted with for over a year. She and I decided that we will stay in Russia for 5 to 7 years or longer. I will appreciate it if anyone can give me advices especially what type of visa I will need in order to obtain permanent residency and to find work. I'm not looking for work permit since I will be seeking permanent residency once I move there.

Many thanks,
skitchin

Clean32
13-06-2007, 19:59
welcome

ok i assume you have all the details re visa etc etc.

get stuck in to getting your visa sorted as soon as you get here as it takes about 6-9 months and then theres a 1 - 3 year pobationary period. if you know all this then cool if not ask.

cheers

skitchin
13-06-2007, 20:42
Does it matter which visa I will need in order to apply for permanent residency? Will I be allowed to find a job while I have temporary resident registration?

Clean32
13-06-2007, 23:08
As i know it, its been some time since i have had to go though the hoops.
I take it you are coming to moscow with the intention to get married, you cant do your temp residency before that

What you need
A sponsor ( your wife) some one who owns where you are going to live and is prepared to take responsibility for you.
Your Rap sheet Apposed and translated
$47 000 USD in the bank, some times they want it in a local bank