PDA

View Full Version : vilnius run



PS777
04-07-2005, 17:55
Hi, Has anyone taken the train to Vilnius from Moscow? I heard for Americans that you need a visa to go through Belarus on the way. Anyway to buy that on the border, or get around it?

Proper Bostonian
05-07-2005, 08:05
Absolutely you do need a transit visa for Belarus! I've seen the authorities force someone off the train. Have also seen them take someone off and put them back on after the girl paid $100 "fine". You can get easily get a transit visa at the Embassy here in Moscow & they'll do "srochno" if you need it fast.

BTW, are you going to Vilnius for a new visa? If yes, when? Most likely I'm going on the 21st.

PS777
05-07-2005, 17:20
Thanks, with the visa it is cheaper to fly. I am taking the lal flight tonight