PDA

View Full Version : Opening bank account in russia

Ellieb
03-06-2005, 17:41
Does anyone know how easy it is for a foreigner to open a bank account in Russia? Is there a particular bank that can be recommended, and what documents are required?

gregs
03-06-2005, 17:43
Loads, depends on what you want.

I opened BSGV in 15 mins for me and my wife.

PM me for more details

geneven
05-06-2005, 00:08
It depends on what your requirements are. I could take money out of my Citibank account from Moscow, and I had payments deposited directly into my US Citibank account. So I never needed an actual Moscow account, though I was in Moscow for two and a half years. I haven't been in Moscow for a year an a half, so things may have changed.

Legally Blonde
05-06-2005, 01:42
There is this bank called vneshtorg bank. that is a good one for foreighners i heard. I had a account in that. But now i use my Hsbc account in hongkong and with draw money from there. As a Student I dont need to deposit any thing. I just with draw money. So Its very convinient for me.

Even a account in sberbank will do as all the banks are almost networked.

As genevan said it depends on your requirements.

Benedikt
05-06-2005, 15:41
... maybe just for the reason that you are familiar with a particular bank back home, you might open an account with a bank from your homecountry.
raiffeisen for austrians / germans
citi for americans
barclays for uk..
i bank with raiffeisen, i am an austrian, can do computer banking, took me about 10 minutes to open an account, needed passport ( and cash of course).
i paid in 1 $, as i explained money will than be transfered from austria for the first time, and than i will pay in from my work..no problems at all. got my credit card, no min. no max. was required.
suppose every bank will support it's citizens and of course clients. i bank with raiffeisen purely because i know them from austria since i was a kid. and get the same good service here like back home.