PDA

View Full Version : Expat Chef Work

Canuck
03-06-2005, 04:07
Hi all,

I was curious as to what, if any job prospects there might be for somone like myself; a Canadian male about to graduate culunary school and wanting to move to Moscow after graduation, perhaps to work as a personal Chef..?

Any information would be very helpful... THANKS!

moondance
03-06-2005, 08:16
Canuck,

I am a chef with my own small catering company here in Moscow, and my BF is Head Chef for one of the large luxury groups; in my opinion its all about the contacts you have here, more so than in most other countries.

There are numerous expat chefs in Moscow and some are doing very well financially but advertisements for positions as head or private chefs are few and far between on international chef forums or reqruitment sites - there are positions from time to time advertised for the hotels here.

Do you have any contacts here at all or will you be coming over to get a feel for the place prior to moving? Do you have any work experience or is it just culinary school experience?

My two cents, you need to be savvy to this place and the food sector here.

Having said that, if we can help, please let me know. Good luck

Lled
03-06-2005, 08:39
Canuck

Agree with Moondance. I am in the hotel business. There is a calling for decent chefs with experience for the hotels and restaurants here - you'll need contacts or get lucky with a recruiter.

Check ehotelier.com and hcareers.com but you probably know that already.

Then check the HQ's of the major hotel groups present in Moscow (Marriott, Hyatt etc).

I wouldn't know how you'd get in with the private and restaurant sector though.

Maybe someone else has contacts?

Good luck !

moondance
03-06-2005, 08:45
Also www.chef2chef.com sometimes has positions posted for here.

Yes, Lled is correct about the hotels, check the career sections on the hotel websites though right now I doubt they are looking.