PDA

View Full Version : Flatshare or live on my own?

xpucu
15-06-2010, 14:46
I am moving to Moscow in September and have just started looking at housing options. I can more than comfortably afford to rent on my own in the city centre, so money is not an issue. I was looking at anything between Ohotnii Ryiad/Tverskaya/Arbatskaya so I can walk to the office.

At the same time I think I rather have a flatmate as I am new to Moscow and don't know many people so that will be a good way to have someone to share the experience with. The problem is - I don't know anyone and I am not sure how to go about finding someone I can live with. I think at least in the beginning I will be comfortable sharing only with another expat. I speak some Russian but it's not completely up to scratch, and I'd want home to be the one place I can escape cultural misunderstanding and language barrier issues at least as I first settle in.

Anyone faced this issue before? Any suggestions or advice will be greatly appreciated

Judge
15-06-2010, 14:57
Hi,a a good priced central shared room was posted here http://www.expat.ru/forum/vbclassified.php?do=ad&id=8678
the other day,worth checking out..

In your new job you will meet new people and will have the chance to mix with expats and locals,if that works out then you could get your own flat when your circle of friends grow...To meet expats/Russians, check out the local events section for meet ups,there's something on nearly everyday..

tasel
15-06-2010, 15:41
Hi Xpucu, welcome to Moscow.

tvadim133
15-06-2010, 16:27
I am moving to Moscow in September and have just started looking at housing options. I can more than comfortably afford to rent on my own in the city centre, so money is not an issue. I was looking at anything between Ohotnii Ryiad/Tverskaya/Arbatskaya so I can walk to the office.