PDA

View Full Version : Book recommendations

nbogaard
09-04-2010, 13:59
Okay, everybody, my wife and I are leaving on a vacation and cruise for a couple of weeks in about ten days. I would like recommendations for Kindle books I might take with me. This is what's on my Kindle so far for the trip:

Caught by Harlan Coben
The Spire by Richard North Patterson
Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
Slam by Nick Hornby
Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby
Guardian of Lies by Steve Martini
The Ghost War by Alex Berenson
The Silent Man by Alex Berenson
The Midnight House by Alex Berenson

Thanks!

nbogaard
09-04-2010, 14:01
I'm still learning. I think this somehow got into current affairs. It must have been something I did wrong but I have no idea what. Help!!

FatAndy
09-04-2010, 14:42
http://flibusta.net/
Seek here if you have FB2 format compatible reader - most of books here are in FB2. For access to non-FB2 formats you have to register and login.

yes, it sticked to Current affairs subforum. Write to admins, they will move your thread into correct place.

Carbo
09-04-2010, 14:53
Well, for some poolside/beach page-turning fiction, I'd recommend just about anything by Frederick Fosyth. However, if I had to pick one, it would be his first novel, The Day of the Jackal (surely one of the greatest, and most underrated thrillers ever). But The Odessa File, The Dogs of War, The Devils Alternative, The Fist of God, Icon, and The Negotiator all come highly recommended. Pick any of them, and you'll not be disappointed. If you haven't read The Day of the Jackal, though, get it downloaded. It's so exciting, so keenly observed and feels so real, you'll just not be able to put it down.