PDA

View Full Version : Most expensive city... my ar**!

tomowen
27-01-2010, 17:53
I'm curious as to whether any expats really consider Moscow to be the most expensive city in the world. Granted, I'm only a student, who doesn't really live in the real world (I have generous parents, a student loan, an overdraft and whatever I earn from part time, minimum wage, work to piss up the wall in Europe's biggest city whilst for my 12 hours' Russian tuition per week I only need 70% attendance to 'pass' my year abroad) nor am I that accustomed to the finer things in life (my tipple of choice is a good Czech/German/Polish/Ukrainian lager or, failing that, Baltika 7, eating out means fast food or a 'business lunch' whilst TGI's on a Saturday night is pushing the boat out somewhat, plus I hate getting taxis and am quite happy travelling Platzkart). Cutting to the chase, I cannot understand why how Moscow is considered the world's most expensive city for foreigners; not least when the average salary for Muscovites is well below that of just about anywhere in Western Europe.

Granted, durable goods like clothes from Western High St chains and mobile phones are expensive (my Nokia 6300 costs about 50 in the UK, plus 10 to get it unlocked on York market, whilst a Russian friend said hers cost 6000r), but food in the supermarket is comparable in price as are cigarettes and alcohol (provided it's not imported). So is eating out at most lower-mid range places; a Big Mac in Moscow is 70r (1.50) whilst the individual sandwich in the UK is over 2 (though there are no meal deals at Russian McD's so the price of a large big Mac meal with ketchup works out about the same). At many Moscow restaurants the cheapest draught pint is often as low as 2 as often at swanky bars/clubs which often don't even charge admission on Friday/Saturday nights. Then public transport/Gypsy cabs are not very expensive either.