PDA

View Full Version : An inquiry about marrying a Russian girl

ali992
20-11-2009, 11:52
Hello,
My problem is very complicated and I wish I can get an answer here.
I am an overseas student at one of the UK universities ( with a student visa). I am in touch with a Russian girl and I want to marry her. I haven't met her in reality, all our meetings were online only. She will try to get a tourist visa to come to see me here. But before that, please I would like to know if I can marry her at the Russian Embassy as I need an official marriage documents to transfer her visa from a tourist visa to a dependent visa. Also if you can provide me by some details it will be highly appreciated.
Also do you think she will be able to get a visa to the UK as a tourism. Her finance is not good.

Thank you so much ,
Ali

Ian G
20-11-2009, 12:39
Hello Ali, and welcome to the forum.
So- you want to get married to someone you've never met? Wait! Visit Russia as a tourist (getting a tourist visa to Russia is no problem) and meet this girl, and spend some time getting to know her. Let her visit you in the UK (again on a tourist visa). If you want to spend more time together you can then start thinking about other types of visa- eg maybe you could come to Russia to work. But don't rush into getting married until you are absolutely sure she is the right person and you've decided where you are going to live. You've both got years ahead of you to sort things out. (I'm feeling a bit like an 'agony aunt' as I type this, but this is serious advice.)
And if you do decide to visit Russia, you'll find people on this forum very helpful.
Good luck!

ali992
20-11-2009, 12:56