PDA

View Full Version : What is really required to teach English?

dontcallme
16-10-2009, 11:07
I've been teaching in Moscow now for just over a year. The experience has been really interesting and the majority of my students have been very happy with my teaching ability and their improvement in using the English language.

I've been very surprised by the amount of snobbery displayed by many teachers in Moscow. I've just read an ad in the lessons section by someone claiming to be a "real English teacher". The amount of punctuation and grammar mistakes in his advert was shocking. His main selling point seemed to be little more than saying other teachers are useless and you need a native speaker.

Do people not realise that there are many different qualities needed to teach English?

I have passed a TEFL course and the CELTA. I have 2 years teaching experience part time and just over a year full time. In the last company I worked for in England I was always asked to teach the new staff how to do their job as I have the right amount of patience and the people skills to help them settle in. I do not have a degree.

I would never teach a class that I didn't feel qualified or able to teach. I excel in some situations and in others I don't. I was offered a position in a school despite the fact I have no qualifications or experience taking school children through a curriculum, I turned the job down.

I don't suppose it matters if I can consider myself a "real teacher" or not, but the sheer snobbery I read on these boards and within the teaching expat community is quite depressing.

alterego
16-10-2009, 11:35