PDA

View Full Version : Vdnh?

Toro
14-10-2009, 08:57
my first post, guys and gals.. i've been recently to the VDNH exhibition as i've always to see those golden statutes around the big fountain. i took a shot of one of the statutes. btw, i counted 16 golden beauties each representing a Soviet republic. but there were 15 republics, if my memory serves me right. anyway, i am a layman in history and i will post a pic once i accumulate enough points..)

would you mind sharing your pictures of VDNH as well?

Moskauerin
14-10-2009, 10:49
Hi, Toro! Welcome to the forum!

I have lived near VDNKh since childhood, and it is really great to hear about your interest to this location. :) BTW: why are you interested exactly in it? Do you also like the sculpture of the Worker and the Collective Farm Woman (Rabochiy i Kolkhoznitsa) by Vera Mukhina?

I have some pictures at my home computer, will try to download them a bit later.

It's a good question reg. 16 figures and 15 republics. Puzzles myself. Maybe the 16th is some symbol? Will have to do some research on that!

Ian G
14-10-2009, 11:09
There were Fifteen republics, plus Mongolia, which is also represented on the fountain, so 16 in all. Here is one of my pictures:
Fountain of the friendship of peoples on Flickr - Photo Sharing!@@AMEPARAM@@http://farm1.static.flickr.com/61/155473617_8bbf39d2cc_m.jpg@@AMEPARAM@@155473617@@AMEPARAM@@8bbf39d2cc

I haven't seen Vera Mukhina's statue for several years- is it back in place yet?

Factory worker and Collective farmer on Flickr - Photo Sharing!@@AMEPARAM@@http://farm1.static.flickr.com/50/110376306_36653191fa_m.jpg@@AMEPARAM@@110376306@@AMEPARAM@@36653191fa

If you want to see more of her work have a look at the clulpture in Парк Дружбы, near Речной Вокзал.

ХЛЕБ on Flickr - Photo Sharing!@@AMEPARAM@@http://farm1.static.flickr.com/33/97849471_50dd0c613f_m.jpg@@AMEPARAM@@97849471@@AMEPARAM@@50dd0c613f
http://www.flickr.com/photos/seriykotik/97849471/

tvadim133
14-10-2009, 14:49