PDA

View Full Version : Teaching Beginners ages 4-6

djm10us
15-09-2009, 22:03
Hi,
I have been in Moscow for 6 years teaching.
I work at a private school and teach 2nd grade and then private lessons.

I have a question for other teachers working with young children.(ages4-7)

I have 3 girls I am teaching. Their ages are from 3.5- 5.5. They are absolute beginners.

What programs have you been using? Are there any new programs that you recommend?
Also, do you know any helpfull websights with materials? Free or pay.

I have been teaching for a long time and I am still using the same programs I used 5 years ago. Just wanted to hear come comments and recomendations from other teachers.

Thanks,
Donald

Bels
15-09-2009, 23:06
When you say you have three, are you talking about teaching small groups, ore you teaching them all separately with different families. I have set programmes for those from the age of five. Oly recently have I found a greater for demad for three year olds ad slightly younger. I find them the most difficult eve though I have a three year old son on of my own who is Russian. My son was and still is very easy to teach English, and it would be fantastic if they were all the same, but unfortunately they are not.

Yes it certainly needs thaught for the very young, first thigs first is building up their confidence and liking you. ot as easy as dealing with your own children. Then it;s creating interest and having them willingly learn. That's the secret.

Hi,
I have been in Moscow for 6 years teaching.
I work at a private school and teach 2nd grade and then private lessons.

I have a question for other teachers working with young children.(ages4-7)

I have 3 girls I am teaching. Their ages are from 3.5- 5.5. They are absolute beginners.

What programs have you been using? Are there any new programs that you recommend?
Also, do you know any helpfull websights with materials? Free or pay.