PDA

View Full Version : Where to buy Mac Pro ram?

snow&music
22-08-2009, 10:12
Hi, does anyone know where I can find ram for my Mac Pro? I have the pre '08 model, so I need the 667hz simms. Any help would be great!

Thanks, S.

Strider
22-08-2009, 11:17
I think you can buy them anywhere... it just has to be DDR2 SO-DIMM either 667Mhz or 800Mhz

can you replace ram yourself? if you can, you can simply order ram online, if you need someone to do work for you... then it's better for you to go to some market, like gorbushka, and have some guys from the store change it for you, after you've bought it

TD
22-08-2009, 15:53
I think you can buy them anywhere... it just has to be DDR2 SO-DIMM either 667Mhz or 800Mhz

Correct - you would be just wasting money by going to the apple stores. I suggest either Gorbushka or Savyolovski rynok.

snow&music
24-08-2009, 12:50
Thanks for the feedback, I agree, buying apple official ram would be over expensive. I am not an expert in apple ram, my experience has only been in building pc's (and that experience is probably out of date by now). I am looking for the following

24.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Set (4GB... (OWC53FB4MPK24GB) at OWC (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/53FB4MPK24GB/)

Sorry for what may be a stupid question, but will this be hard to find in gorbushka? Or is this type of ram compatible with pc's and thus easy to obtain?

It's a load of ram, but as I use the apple for ram intensive programmes (Logic & graphics stuff) I decided to go nuts. :)

Thanks for any help you can give, if you know a specific place or person who can help that would be great. I know, in principle I could order from overseas, but I'd like to have the product in my hand when I hand over the cash!

Strider
24-08-2009, 14:09
I'm sorry, I got it wrong... I thought it was MacBook Pro...

if you have Mac Pro then I guess you have to buy this type of memory... it's not apple proprietary, it's a typical server ram