PDA

View Full Version : Well then, how do I go about this? (Maybe I can humor you too)

Jetsettermike22
03-07-2009, 05:18
So I'm a newbie here and I would like to live and work in Russia and I was looking into teaching English. You might be thinking, "Great..some backpacker wanting to teach English here...I've heard this one before. And he's an American dude? Probably wants to hook up with a Russian bride." Maybe it's for the girls I'm doing this..I was in the U.S. Navy and I met a lot of Russian girls in my travels and I must say they are beautiful and intelligent. Maybe it's because I've been compelled to visit Russia since I was a kid. Why? James Bond flicks...I dunno. And yeah, I want to teach English because it's a good way to experience a culture firsthand and whatever fresh-faced, doe-eyed stereotypes you can think of. But out of all the places I can teach English with better pay and lower cost of living, I choose Russia. Additional info..yeah, living in Moscow would be OK for a few months, but I would rather live in a smaller town so I can experience the Russian culture better.

Now, I've been reading on the various forums about the McSchools that seem to exploit their teachers, etc. and I ask the forum..if you were in my shoes, and knowing what you know now, what is the best way to go about finding a job in Russia (teaching English or otherwise)? I haven't found any definite answers on how I should start my journey. And please be honest and blunt as possible. I'm a grown man..I can take some potshots. Thank you in advance for your help.

Mike

robertmf
03-07-2009, 06:02