PDA

View Full Version : English self-taught (need advise!)

Ursus Spelaeus
30-03-2009, 10:45
Hi there everyone!

A russian is looking for a good English self-taught books to improve his intermediate english. Please advise authors/books!

10x!

p.s. am going to Australia soon and I need to extend my active vocabulary. I belive I have a good enough pronunciation and I know simple grammar well (I think) but my vocabulary is quite small and profession specific. So what I want is to find a book which would give me lots of situations, texts, dialogues, etc.
Thank you in advance!

alterego
30-03-2009, 10:55
I hope you realize that if you take my suggestion you will not truly be self-taught.

Forget the text books. Just get some paperback books and a dictionary. I would suggest a regular English dictionary but if you're too lazy for that then a Russian-English one. You can even find some intermediate level books here in Moscow that will have a vocabulary list in the back with Russian translations.

A lawyer who represents himself has a fool for a client.

Ursus Spelaeus
30-03-2009, 11:24
I hope you realize that if you take my suggestion you will not truly be self-taught.

Check&mate :)))

Forget the text books. Just get some paperback books and a dictionary. I would suggest a regular English dictionary but if you're too lazy for that then a Russian-English one. You can even find some intermediate level books here in Moscow that will have a vocabulary list in the back with Russian translations.

OK, then there is nothing special to learn but just read, read and read... Now my questings look stupid. Sorry for wasting your time! :10241:

alterego
30-03-2009, 11:37
There are plenty of special things to learn but you won't find them all in one place.
If I thought it was a waste of time I wouldn't have bothered to answer.

You might want to review 'advise/advice'.

IraM
30-03-2009, 21:02