PDA

View Full Version : Hello Expats - meet Almatinka!

Almatinka
09-03-2009, 02:25
Hey everybody!

I've just joined this forum, but I have been checking it out before. My name is Anastasia, I'm an ethnic Russian/Ukrainian, who is a citizen of Kazakhstan, and who has been living in the US and Canada in the past 11 years - so my background is a bit complicated, eh :)?

I am currently contemplating to move to Moscow and work there. I've been there last December for a visit and felt that it was MY city -- you, know you get this feeling sometime, and if it stays with you, you want to do something about it. Yes, the city is big and dirty, and bureaucracy is horrible, but nevertheless... it's Russian... I guess I missed that in the US...

Anyway, I am looking for a job first, of course - which will be the main catalyst in my move to the city. I am not a foreginer per se --- I can enter Russia without a visa, BUT I do need a work permit and then a residence registration, and I know it can be a pain.

My question to the forum members is as follows:
Should I simply move to Moscow first, get a work permit myself and then start to actively look for a job while in Moscow?; or
Should I get a job offer (which should include work permit sponsorship) while I'm still in the US?

I know what most of you may say - 'Well, duh --- get a job offer first! What idiot would go to the unknown place without any concrete prospects?' That is very much true, but sometimes I feel that I should risk it.... As we Russians say - 'Whoever doesn't risk, doesn't drink champagne' ;).