PDA

View Full Version : International Driver's license and GAI

Citizen Caine
07-11-2008, 10:18
Hi,

I have been driving in Moscow for about 4 years always with my national German license and International one, never had any real problems. - Last night I was pulled over by GAI around the Moscow City area, - they were doing traffic checks with 3 officers. One guy viewed all my docs which were all in order but he was obviously looking for some "chocolate". He started complaining that my International drivers license was not understandable to him and should be translated into Russian. I tried to explain him that all the stamps validating the driving categories on the first, German page, exactly refer to the Russian page in that same document, and it always had been acknowledged previously without problems and this is how the International license looks like. He disagreed, saying that the Russian page is empty and I need to get a notarized translation of it. - He then talked to the other officers who also seemed to be unsure about this, then he threatened me that they would need to confiscate my license and have the car towed. At this point, because I was sure I was right, - I already got worked up quite a bit, I got out of the car and consented that they should take my license and get the car towed, at which point they let me go then with the usual remark, next time we will get you. - I think I am right that I do not need to get this translated once more, but as additional backup I would like to show them next time an excerpt of the Russian traffic law where it states that my docs are ok for driving in Russia. Does anyone know where I could find/download this, also a copy of a Russian International driver's license would be helpful. Thanks.

kebab
07-11-2008, 10:44
As far as I know you need a medical spravka, a notarised translated copy of your driving license, Russia doesn't have an international driving license so he was just trying it on.

MARIA MOSCOW