PDA

View Full Version : What visa do you need to be on to apply for a TRP in the first place?

footloose
11-09-2008, 17:47
Hi. Can I explain my situation? I am living in China, and would like to move to Vladivostok and freelance from there. I have a degree in Chinese and Russian, and would like to be near China to pop back constantly. In Russia, I would not need a job, but would earn money by freelancing over the Internet for companies outside Russia (writing articles).

1. As far as I understand, you can't apply for the TRP outside Russia. You have to go there, pick a region and apply locally, right?

2. If I got a 90 days business visa, went to Russia and worked by freelancing over the Internet while I was there, and during this time applied for a Vladivostock TRP and then after the 90 days were up went back to China, then I wouldn't be able to go back to Russia for 90 days. Do you have to be on a work visa to apply for a TRP, or can you do it on a business visa? Can you just go back after the 90 days outside the country are up and see if the TRP is ready yet and then stay? Can you apply for a TRP on a study visa?

3. What if they ask "how do you intend to make money?" when I apply for a TRP? Would that expose the fact that I was already doing bits of freelance work over the Internet on a business visa? Is it allowed to freelance for overseas companies while in Russia on a business visa?

4. Does Vladivostok have a quota for immigration? How can I find out?

5. Is there any better way of doing what I outlined above?

6. Are there any reputable immigration firms that can help me with the process?

Thanks for any advice!

mefistofele
12-09-2008, 07:46