PDA

View Full Version : Renouncing Russian citizenship and getting it back?

juliaoptimist
08-09-2008, 14:23
I am a single female who was born in, and lived all of my life in Russia until five years ago. Since this time, I have been a permanent resident of the Netherlands. I must soon apply for a Dutch passport, and because I am now single, I am required to renounce my Russian citizenship in order to obtain a Dutch passport.

My question I hope someone can help me with is - if I renounce my Russian citizenship, how difficult will it be to return to Russia to live permanently if I decide to do so in the future? Will I ever be able to have a Russian passport or residence again?

Thanks for any advice you may be able to provide.

MaltSokol
09-09-2008, 01:11
Russian authorities ignore the oath you make when you are granted a new citizenship. When on Russian soil, you will continue being Russian.
If you plan to keep visiting Russia, I would recommend you to continue renewing your passports at your consulate (both internal and zagranpasport) to avoid problems that might prevent you from going back to the Netherlands for months on an eventual visit to Russia.
You shouldn't visit Russia as Dutch citizen with a Russian visa on your passport, as you could get in trouble if they found out that you are in fact a Russian national. And definitely you should show the same passport at passport control when entering and leaving Russia.
People agree with me?

juliaoptimist
09-09-2008, 01:34
Russian authorities ignore the oath you make when you are granted a new citizenship. When on Russian soil, you will continue being Russian.

Alberto, thank you.

Does this mean that Russia will not permit its citizens to renounce their citizenship? This is important because I understand that Netherlands permits an exception to the requirement to renounce foreign citizenship - in the case that that country does not accept the renouncing of citizenship.